Lyndhurst had its beginnings as the village of Furnace Falls in the 1800's after a vein of iron ore was discovered in the area. An iron works soon followed, along with several mills built to take advantage of the waterways. These fuelled the economy for the next hundred years.
In 1846 the village was renamed Lyndhurst, honouring Lord Lyndhurst. The oldest stone bridge in Ontario was constructed in 1857 over the Lyndhurst River. It remains today as a fine example of masonry three arch construction, typifying the roman style of the builder's native Scotland.
This little village boasts two exciting events each year. On the third Saturday in September, more than 6,000 people descend upon Lyndhurst for the fall Turkey Fair - where the theme is "A Free Day of Fun For The Entire Family". This is followed by the Santa Claus parade in November, where locals participate in one of the best little parades in Ontario!
New entrepreneurs are bringing their talents and wares to Lyndhurst for the enjoyment of visitors and residents, both young and old. Bring the family and join us for an authentic small town Ontario experience!
For more information visit the Lyndhurst and Seeley's Bay Chamber of Commerce website.